Tags

, ,

DUNGEON PROMPTS – SEASON 2, WEEK 12: WHAT DOES LOVE LOOK LIKE?

Suggested Prompts:

*Does it come in the form of a beautiful face that takes your breath away, or is it the courage that makes one stand up and take on injustice and causes everyone around to get up and stand with them?  Is it universal, unconditional, and all expansive, or is it a secret hidden away, nurtured and protected, in the safety of your heart?  What does love look like to you?

page divider

What did I used to think love was?

I put the lyrics to Tina Turners song because I guess when I was younger I used to think this was what love was about.  It was really lust I guess.  I used to think that love was the same thing for everyone, that it was like a recipe consisting of X,Y & Z and that if you had/experienced this, this was love.  How wrong was I?

“What’s Love Got To Do With It”

You must understand
That the touch of your hand
Makes my pulse react
That it’s only the thrill
Of boy meeting girl
Opposites attractIt’s physical
Only logical
You must try to ignore
That it means more than that[Chorus:]
Oh what’s love got to do, got to do with it
What’s love but a second hand emotion
What’s love got to do, got to do with it
Who needs a heart
When a heart can be brokenIt may seem to you
That I’m acting confused
When you’re close to me
If I tend to look dazed
I’ve read it someplace
I’ve got cause to beThere’s a name for it
There’s a phrase that fits
But whatever the reason
You do it for me[Chorus]I’ve been taking on a new direction
But I have to say
I’ve been thinking about my own protection
It scares me to feel this way[Chorus]What’s love got to do, got to do with it
What’s love but a sweet old fashioned notion
What’s love got to do, got to do with it
Who needs a heart when a heart can be broken
page divider

What about love?

Everyone is different, so how can love be the same from one person to the other? So this must mean there are different types of loves, for we are all different.  You can’t put your finger on it and come out with an equation that you must feel or have this for it to be love.  If it is love in your mind, it just is, isn’t it?

It is important what you do with this so called love though.

I used to think that love would cause a cemented bond between you and the other person, I was wrong.  I learned the hard way.  Just because you are loved or love both ways, it does not mean you have security, never take it for granted, never think it is unconditional.  We are humans with varying emotions and skillsets emotionally and manipulate and chose how we react, store and interpret this love.

You can imagine the love of a parent to child unconditional, cannot be broken, I learned that a fathers love can be tucked away, it is not unconditional.  I learned that people can just switch their love off somehow like an on/off button.  Can I do it?  No, but others can.

Do I trust love?

I guess not really, not wholeheartedly like I used to, it is like a little bit of me checks over my shoulder when it relates to love from one person to another.

But what other type of love is there for me?

statue of mother and child

“You don’t understand,’ she said, and there was a puzzling trace of resentment in her voice. ‘Children never do. The love a parent has for a child, there’s nothing else like it. No other love so consuming.”
― Cassandra Clare, City of Ashes

I love my children, unconditionally.  I know this.  I will always love them, will I always like them, that isn’t set in stone, but love, yes.

I think we have to love the world we live in, in order to love our selves and humanity.  Love cannot be insular, it cannot really be just for oneself, selective, tucked away, it should be shared.

In that I mean, to learn to love why we are here.  To learn to love nature, the glory and fragility of it.  To learn to love humankind en-masse, to have faith in ‘something’.  This isn’t about religion, it’s just about being.

sunlit flower

“The earth laughs in flowers.”
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

Love to me is walking out of my front door, seeing the sun glint through the clouds, the petals of a flower becoming semi translucent as the rays break through the thin veins of colour.

My eyes then lifting, smelling the scent of nature, my ears hearing the sounds of birds, a child, social communication between mankind, words of kindness, protection and yes, love in each and everyone’s unique way.

We can’t really exist without this surely?

That is what love is for me, how I see it in my every day life.

Itisalonelyplace.wordpress.com

Let’s stay connected!

retro button Living in East Sheen (2) Retro eclectic odds n sods-002